Good Food & Good Friends.

“Sharing food with another human being is an intimate act hat should not be indulged in lightly.” – M.F.K. Fisher

There is truly nothing better than sharing a great meal with your closest friends. Friendship is very beneficial to your health. It relieves stress, enhances your mental well being, and friends can motivate one another to make healthy life decisions.

This year for Valentines Day, I decided to surround myself with friends and food.

My friend Alyssa and I decided to surprise our roommate Samantha by asking her if she would be our Valentine. (Disclosure: she said yes.) We made reservations at a restaurant in downtown Greenville called Soby’s for just the three of us. I highly recommend Soby’s to anyone who wants to indulge themselves in an exquisite meal!

I love going to Soby’s because they have great seafood entrees and seafood reminds me of my friends and family. I am from Ocean City Maryland; a popular beach vacation destination. Growing up at the beach definitely had it’s perks, one of which being I have always been blessed with fresh seafood (I am, and forever will be a seafood snob). Whenever I visit home, I eat as much seafood as I can since I do not get to eat it very often in South Carolina. I can always count on Soby’s to serve me a dish that is full of delicious seafood with a southern flare.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Presecco with my lovely dates! Photo taken by Ashley Trice

On the night of my romantic Galentines soirée, Soby’s was offering a scallop special – my mind was immediately made. The dish consisted of four fresh scallops accompanied by grits, mushrooms, butternut squash, and a balsamic maple glaze drizzled on top. It was stupendous. 

Most people know that fish is good for you, but what about other kinds of seafood? Turns out scallops contain the vitamin B12 which plays a key role in normal functioning of the brain and nervous system. Vitamin B12 can lower your risk of developing atherosclerosis, diabetic heart disease, heart attack and stroke. In addition to vitamin B12, scallops also contain magnesium and potassium which provide significant benefits for you cardiovascular health. 

Leave a Reply

